RIP Graham Stamps

g_stampsThe county is once again in mourning after the news that former player Graham Stamps has passed away. Stamper was a well known character and life of the party, at many County Fixtures if you heard the County song then you knew Stamper was in the room. All at the County send their deepest sympathies to the family.


The Funeral Arrangements for Graham ‘Stampa’ Stamps is September 4th at Yardley Crematorium 1.00pm or from the house 12.00pm 
22, Sunningdale Road, Tyseley. B11 3QG 

Hughes takes Antwerp Open

Jamie Hughes has taken the Antwerp Open by storm with a Final win over Martin Adams. Along the way Jamie defeated Pip Blackwell in the last 16 which avenged his defeat to the said player in the last County match versus Kent. Further wins over Fellow England International Glen Durrant by 5 legs to 2 and then a semi final whitewash over the ever improving Sam Hewson. More points for Jamie towards a possible Lakeside spot in the new year. Jamie also took the mixed pairs for this weekend winning with Paula Jacklin of Lincolnshire.

Meanwhile Trina Gulliver agonisingly lost out in a dramatic semi final with Deta Hedman, after being 4 legs to 1 up Trina missed many doubles to see the game off and bowed out by 5 legs to 4.10525372_829703983715055_8413891665128486725_n

Mens and Ladies at Champions Cup.

The Ladies team of Cubbington A faced a tough challenge of Northumberland and Lancashire in the British Champions Cup in Hull. Both times the Ladies lost these games by the closest of scorelines 3-2 so bowed out at the group stages. The event was won by Sherborne Ladies of Dorset who defeated the Bath ladies of Somerset. Unlucky to all the Ladies – Nina Bolt, Angela Jones, Sue Symons, Melanie Hill and Pat Thornton.


The Mens team of Brandon Club fared a little better with victories over Wisbech of Cambridgeshire by 5-4, Easington of County Durham 6-3, Stranraer 7-2 but then faced a strong Essex side where the winner of this tie would seal a place in the last eight. Unfortunately they lost out by the odd game 5-4. Unlucky to all the lads of Brandon. Colin Laffar, Nigel Heydon, Steve Hine, Graham Hall, Peter Hughes, Dave Sanders, Matt Edgar, Mark Strong and Tommy Ryan with Captain Les Ball.